Holy Rollers and Holy Rockers

CARRADIO

I was spinning the dial on the radio as I drove home from dropping Brenna off at school this morning and stopped on a song with a catchy tune. It was on a station which plays positive, Gospel or contemporary Christian music. As the song ended I continued twisting the dial and happened upon Nirvana’s “Half The Man I Used To Be”. The song spurred thoughts and emotions about Christ the previous had not. The line “Take time with a wounded hand, ’cause it likes to heal” evoked thoughts of the Gospel that the Gospel music didn’t. I find myself finding the Divine in the not so in your face places. That’s not to say there’s a thing wrong with Christian music. Who isn’t moved by a good rendition of “Amazing Grace”? But God is everywhere, speaking through people you may least expect to find those who may not be tuning in to the local contemporary Christian station. Consider Sister Act, all those nuns singing “I Will Follow Him” took on a different message than originally intended .The first time I heard the song “Home” by Phillip Phillips I got chills. Take some of these lyrics and try not to hear the Almighty speaking right to you:

                                      “Hold on to me as we go

As we roll down this unfamiliar road

And although this  wave is stringing us along

Just know you’re not alone

Cause I’m going to  make this place your home
Settle down, it’ll all be clear

Don’t pay no mind to the demons

They fill you with fear

The  trouble it might drag you down

 If  you get lost, you can always be found”

Chris Daughtry’s song by the same title also has such connotations. How about Rod Stewart’s “Have I Told You Lately That I Love You?” I cringe as I type this, but “This I Promise You” by N’Sync also illustrates my point. Hey, He used a donkey once, maybe He’s not above using N’Snyc. The promises and even the longing and despair in some love songs brings the Almighty to mind. Louis Armstrong’s “What A Wonderful World” moves me to praise God. Sister Hazel’s “All For You” makes me giddy. There’s so many fantastic songs that speak to my heart about joy, splendor, redemption, grace, trials and suffering that bring Him to mind without saying Him at all.

 A few months ago in a MOPs meeting I felt a little out-of-place when everyone started sharing answers to the ice-breaker question “What’s your favorite song?”. I wasn’t familiar with the answers they gave, mostly contemporary Christian artists and was afraid my answer “American Pie” wouldn’t cut the mustard. I’m intimidated by how people who love movies like “Courageous” (easy, cheesy gaaaaggggg) view someone like me . I take comfort in this quote from St. Anthony ,“I ask that if you find anything
edifying, anything consoling, anything well presented, that you give all praise,
all glory and all honor to the Blessed Son of God, Jesus Christ.” I think I’ll continue to do just that.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Holy Rollers and Holy Rockers

  1. Denise Fisher says:

    Love it! Once again, you conveyed your thoughts with clarity and I appreciate that so much. You make an awesome point that He can make Himself known in any thing, any time and any where.. And the comment about “Courageous,” agreed. That is all.

Leave a Reply

