Remember Me?

writing again

It’s been over a month since I last blogged and I’m sure all 7 of you that actually read this poor undertended blog have missed it incredibly. My creative juices have been flowing into other streams, but not necessarily filling my ocean. As an artist (I feel like such an over inflated goober even using the word for myself) I wish I could paint all day; whatever my little heart desires and people would appreciate it for what it is. Unfortunately that’s not the way it goes and I’ve been selling out my talents in less creative ways. So, I think it’s time to start dabbling selfishly into my right brain again starting with this blog. Here’s the highlights for the month I’ve been gone.

The girls and I went to Jersey for a visit over Spring Break. While we were there Brenna, Stevie and my niece Bridget were running around the house away from “Zombie Poppy” (that’s a game all pre-school girls play with their grandpas right?) when Stevie proved once again that she never runs with the pack. She stopped mid-squeal and offered the zombie a Barbie, a toy egg and some cheese “Here Zombie, eat this. Calm down, come with me.” Everyone can run if they want, Stevie’s gonna make a pet of this thing.

I made it through Newark Airport with two children unscathed, but I earned some serious Mom Stripes on the flight home. Brenna was having some gastro-intestinal issues which meant I had to take her to the bathroom mid-flight. Me, a 5 year old and a 2 year old in the bathroom of a 50 passenger Express Jet. Not just any 5 and 2 year olds, my schizophrenic ones. Brenna was terrified she was going to be sucked out of the plane by the toilet. Stevie thought she was in some kind of sky-capsule-of-death and climbed me like a cat. Fun was had by all but no one actually “used” the bathroom. The one time in my life when poop would have made it all worth it.

Finally read “Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil”. It was…interesting. I really enjoyed some of the characters, others made me squeamish, and some just made me sad. All of these effects were intensified once I considered that the story was based on real people and events. I guess truth really is stranger than fiction. I also read “The Silence of Bonaventure Arrow” by Rita Leganski. It was one of those stories that stays with you, and her words really painted a picture in my head. Actually, there were many lines that made me want to paint pictures but I didn’t (see first paragraph).

I’ve been using vinegar and other simple natural ingredients for cleaning around the house, making my own bread, fruit snacks and body wash. Soon I will be taking on a new pioneering venture and starting a raised garden. Stephen built and stained a nice wooden construction for my new veggies and I’m excited about getting dirty, and growing and eating our own produce. I’m also hoping I do better with this than other green things because I am more or less houseplant hospice. If my garden takes off, you can expect to see even less of this blog as I’ll be throwing away my razors and going off the grid.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Remember Me?

  1. Denise says:

    Yay! You’re back! One day I’m going to take the treacherous 2 house walk and come see you. That is if I can ever find a spare moment. Still, I LOVE reading your blogs and you know that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

